Love Yourself First

Hello people!

This is my first blog post and today I’m writing about something which I always wanted to share my views on. As the name itself suggests, loving our own selves is our priority and everyone should treat themselves in the best way possible.

I often come across people who don’t like some or the other thing about themselves. It may be their body, appearance, hair, etc. I have also met a few who just hate everything about themselves.  Actually, a little time ago, even I didn’t like my own self. I wasn’t confident with my body and usually thought that I was fat. Most clothes never looked good on me and I looked ‘oversized and ugly’.

And yes, I slowly lost confidence and started hating myself. I hardly had any friends, I used to be lonely all the time and I was completely broke.

But over this past year, I have actually learned how to love me for all my imperfections and accept myself without caring about all these flaws.

All this started when I STOPPED caring about how I look. Yes, everything changed when I started loving myself.

I often thought to myself, won’t I look fat in a dress? What will other people think of me? Will people judge me for that?

I was angry, annoyed and irritated with myself. But I eventually found one answer to all these questions.

So What!

Now when someone said that I looked bad, I invariably thought If It Even Mattered?  All around me I saw and got inspired by new friends, my family, many bloggers and celebrities too.

14671306_718136208338932_1350840223172809554_n

And just then I gradually gained confidence in myself.  People didn’t stop body shaming me, they still haven’t, but now I am actually proud of who I am. Soon, I found new friends who actually cared about me, I was not lonely anymore and I realized how much I had changed just by becoming fond of myself. I stopped editing my pictures, discontinued using ways to try and make myself look thinner and better. And now I just don’t feel the need to make myself more appealing to others. There is no point pretending to be someone who we aren’t. In fact, if you pretend to be someone else, no one knows the actual you, and according to me that is a very ambiguous life, a life where one is there, but still isn’t.

I strongly believe that disliking one’s self is just a cruel psychological concept. Seeing people around me ‘not liking’ themselves, entices me to compel them to become aware of the fact that every single person in this world is Unique, and all we have to do is embrace our faults and flaws. I am glad to accept that I love myself the most and before anything and anyone else. People, we should all realize the fact that,

Only WE can make ourselves extraordinary.

Only WE can love ourselves the most.

All of US are special. We just need to believe, and be what WE are.

We need to Love ourselves before looking for others to love us. Before anything else, we have to think about our own self. We can be true to others only when we’re true to ourselves.

Cheer up, be Confident and be Amazing!

Stay Elegant!

Yours Truly

2 thoughts on “Love Yourself First

Leave a Reply

